27 August, Consistory for the creation of new cardinals

Here are the names of the new cardinals

Copyright Vatican Media
Copyright Vatican Media

On Monday 29 and Tuesday 30 August a meeting will be held of all the cardinals to reflect on the new Apostolic Constitution Praedicate evangelium, and on Saturday 27 August, I will hold a Consistory for the creation of new cardinals. Here are the names of the new cardinals:

1. Archbishop Arthur Roche – prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments;

2. Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung-sik – prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy;

3. Archbishop Fernando Vérgez Alzaga L.C. – president of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State, and president of the Governorate of Vatican City State;

4. Archbishop Jean-Marc Aveline – metropolitan of Marseille, France;

5. Bishop Peter Ebere Okpaleke of Ekwulobia, Nigeria.

6. Archbishop Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, O.F.M., of Manaus, Brazil;

7. Archbishop Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão of Goa and Damão, India;

8. Bishop Robert Walter McElroy of San Diego, United States of America;

9. Archbishop Virgilio Do Carmo Da Silva, S.D.B., of Dili, East Timor;

10. Bishop Oscar Cantoni of Como, Italia;

11. Archbishop Anthony Poola of Hyderabad, India;

12. Archbishop Paulo Cezar Costa, metropolitan of the archdiocese of Brasília, Brazil;

13. Bishop Richard Kuuia Baawobr M. Afr., of Wa, Ghana;

14. Archbishop William Goh Seng Chye of Singapore, Singapore;

15. Archbishop Adalberto Martínez Flores, metropoiltan of Asunción, Paraguay;

16. Bishop Giorgio Marengo, I.M.C., prefect Apostolic of Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.
Along with the above, I will add to the members of the College of Cardinals:

1. Archbishop Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal, emeritus of Cartagena, Colombia;

2. Archbishop Lucas Van Looy, S.D.B., emeritus of Ghent, Belgium;

3. Archbishop Arrigo Miglio, emeritus of Cagliari, Italy;

4. Rev Father Gianfranco Ghirlanda S.J., – professor of theology;

5. Rev Msgr. Fortunato Frezza – canon of Saint Peter.
I wish you a blessed Sunday! Please, do not forget to pray for me. Enjoy your meal, and arrivederci.


The College of Cardinals currently consists of 208 Cardinals, of whom 117 are electors and 91 non-electors. As of 27 August, the number will grow to 229 Cardinals, of whom 131 will be electors.


Copyright © Dicastero per la Comunicazione – Libreria Editrice Vaticana