Holy Father Francis: titles or Deaconries assigned to each of the new Cardinals

Information note from the Office for Liturgical Celebrations

Visit of the new Cardinals to Benedict XVI © Vatican Media

Ordinary Public Consistory for the creation of new Cardinals: assignment of titles and deaconries to new Cardinals

We publish below the list of Titles or Deaconries assigned by the Holy Father Francis to each of the new Cardinals at the moment of creation in this afternoon’s Ordinary Public Consistory:


  • Card. Arthur Roche Diaconia St. Saba
  • Card. Lazarus You Heung-sik Diaconia Jesus Good Shepherd in Montagnola
  • Card. Fernando Vérgez Alzaga, L.C. Diaconia S. Maria della Mercede and S. Adriano in Villa Albani
  • Card. Jean-Marc Aveline Title S. Maria ai Monti
  • Card. Peter Ebere Okpaleke Title Ss. Martyrs of Uganda in Poggio Ameno
  • Card. Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, O.F.M. Title S. Leonardo da Porto Maurizio in Acilia
  • Card. Filipe Neri António Sebastião do Rosário Ferrão Title S. Maria in Via
  • Card. Robert Walter McElroy Title S. Frumenzio ai Prati Fiscali
  • Card. Virgilio do Carmo da Silva, S.D.B. Title S. Alberto Magno
  • Card. Oscar Cantoni Title St. Maria “Regina Pacis” in Monte Verde
  • Card. Anthony Poola Title Ss. Protomartyrs in Via Aurelia Antica
  • Card. Paulo Cezar Costa Title Ss. Boniface and Alexis
  • Card. Richard Kuuia Baawobr, M. Afr. Title Ss. Mary Immaculate of Lourdes in Boccea
  • Card. William Seng Chye Goh Title S. Maria “Regina Pacis” in Ostia mare
  • Card. Adalberto Martínez Flores Title S. Giovanni a Porta Latina
  • Card. Giorgio Marengo, I.M.C. Title S. Giuda Taddeo Apostolo
  • Card. Jorge Enrique Jiménez Carvajal, C.I.M. Title S. Dorotea
  • Card. Arrigo Miglio Title S. Clemente
  • Card. Gianfranco Ghirlanda, S.I. Diaconía Santíssimo Nombre de Jesús
  • Card. Fortunato Frezza Deaconry of St. Mary in Via Lata

Ordinary Public Consistory for the voting of certain Causes of Canonisation

In addition, following the Creation of the Cardinals, the Holy Father Francis presided over the Ordinary Public Consistory for the Canonisation of the Blesseds

Giovanni Battista Scalabrini, Bishop of Piacenza, founder of the Congregation of the Missionaries of St. Charles and of the Congregation of the Missionary Sisters of St. Charles Borromeo;

Artemide Zatti, professed layman of the Salesian Society of St. John Bosco (Salesians).

During the Consistory, the Pope decreed that the Blessed be inscribed in the Roll of Saints on Sunday 9 October 2022.